top of page
  • Writer's pictureMBBS2NHS

E-IELTS.. What on earth is that?

Hey guys, It's Vaan here. I hope you are doing well!

I know these COVID times have been super stressful on everyone. It has caused major delays in everyone's PLAB exams and even job applications.

Some of my friends got stuck because they could not take IELTS, which is a really frustrating situation.

Neither me nor Reetu have taken E-IELTS. However, I have spoken to a friend who took it very recently and has graciously shared her experience with me. I thought I'd give you an overview of the differences in this.


THE OVERALL SCORE REQUIREMENTS REMAIN THE SAME!

There are not a lot of changes, it helps everyone stay safe by abiding to the rules and regulations imposed by COVID-19!


You can take breaks between sections (not sure of the time limit for the breaks). The Camera is required to be on during the exam.


Reading- There is no major difference except of course it will be via computer

Writing- Same as the computer-based IELTS. You have the option to switch between the two essays.

Listening- The passage will be played and you can simply select from the options available.

Speaking- This is done via a video call. This section is done separately and you will be provided the date and time for it.


Regardless, you will have to take the standard paper or computer-based IELTS at some point in your PLAB journey. However, currently, GMC is accepting E-IELTS for PLAB 1 booking. I DO NOT KNOW IF IT IS ACCEPTED AT THE TIME OF FINAL GMC REGISTRATION. If anyone has done so, please do let us know :)


The prices may vary from the standard IELTS. If at any point in the future, you are required to take E-IELTS, I hope this is helpful.





267 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page